Breaking News

The City of Washington, Indiana

A City of Pride and Progress

Government Structure

The City of Washington is governed by a full-time Mayor, a representative Common Council and an elected full-time Clerk-Treasurer.  Section 36 of the Indiana Code classifies cities into three categories, based primarily on population.  As such Washington is a Class 3 city, meaning we have a Common Council of seven elected members, 5 of whom represent specific districts within the City and 2 elected at-large, who serve on a part-time basis.  Meetings of that body are presided over by the Mayor; meetings are held the second and fourth Mondays evenings of each month.  The BPW&S meets following each Council meeting.  Meetings are open to the public. 

In Indiana Mayors serve as the chief executive officer, appoints the supervisors of all city departments and oversees the operations of those departments.  He or she is charged with seeing that city ordinances, once passed by the Common Council, are enforced and that departments operate within their budgets.  The Clerk-Treasurer serves many roles in acting as the chief financial officer of the City.  Among his or her duties, he or she serves as the secretary and record keeper for the Council, Board of Public Works & Safety and other boards, appoints his or her deputies,  pays all claims and payroll, files reports, maintains employee records, receipts payments of citations and city permits, and maintains all books, contracts and official records of the City.  The Common Council is the legislative and fiscal body of the City.  This body considers and passes city ordinances and approves departmental budgets and employee salaries recommended by the Mayor.  The Board of Public Works & Safety, appointed by the Mayor in accordance with State of Indiana statute, approves all claims and makes decisions regarding many personnel, operational and policy issues.  All elected officials serve four-year terms.

Other specific functions of City government are delegated to various boards and commissions, such as the Plan Commission, Board of Zoning Appeals, Redevelopment Commission, Downtown Design Review Committee, and the Park & Recreation Board.  By statute, the Mayor and/or Council make certain appointments to other outside boards such as the Library Board, Housing Authority, County Alcoholic Beverage Board, Visitors Bureau, and other county commissions.  The County Commissioners appoint members to the City Plan Commission, Economic Development Commission and the Board of Zoning Appeals.  A member of the City’s Redevelopment Commission is appointed by the Washington Community School Board.

Contact Us

Mayor's Office
200 Harned Ave
Washington, IN 47501
Get Directions
  • Phone: (812) 254-5575
  • Staff Directory
  • M - F 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

In this Department

Topics of Interest